Excellence in Creative Industries Award

Who can enter the Creative Northland Excellence in Cultural and Creative Industries category?

All individuals, businesses and organisations in the creative and cultural sector are encouraged to apply.
This specialist category rewards initiative, talent, creativity and entrepreneurship across the creative and cultural industries, recognising the central role they play in the development of a competitive and sustainable creative economy.

The Creative Industries are: 

Sectors or activities primarily focused on producing, reproducing, promoting, distributing, or commercializing goods, services, and activities with cultural or artistic origins. Creative industries emphasize goods, services, and activities of an artistic nature, originating from human creativity.

These industries encompass not only the output of human creativity and industrial reproduction but also various other activities that contribute to the creation and distribution of creative products.

Examples of Creative Industries include (but are not restricted to):

  • Audio Visual and Interactive Multi-Media: Radio and TV (internet live-streaming), podcasting, video games (includes online), digital storytelling, moving images, animation, and computer graphics.
  • Books and Press: Books, Newspaper, Magazines (includes virtual), Libraries, and other printed materials (publishers)
  • Design and Creative Services: Fashion Design (can include Cosplay), Set & Lighting
  • Design, Graphic Design, Interior Design, Landscape Design, Architectural Services, Advertising Services, Hairdressing, and Costume Design.
  • Performance and Presentation Arts: Curation, Choreography, Performing Arts, Festivals, Fairs, and Feasts.
  • Visual Arts and Crafts: Food, Fine Arts, Photography, Crafts, and Floral Design.

About Creative Northland

Creative Northland has an ongoing commitment to ensure the arts sector in Northland is dynamic, thriving and influential. We do this through professional development workshops and audience development initiatives collaborating with regional, national and international connections in the creative industries.


Read Entry FAQ’s

Back to top